Espresso Idea: Why This Foolish Teacher is Wary of What Research Tells Us Doesn’t Work.


2969241926_3349138c6a

Espresso Ideas: Small but strong ideas to make you sit up and say ‘yeah!’ (Also known as wasabi ideas)

If only teachers would listen. Research proves that when they do X, it has no effect on learning.

We now even have a list hundreds of items long that tells us what works and what doesn’t.

So what’s the problem? 

Scientists and researchers define ‘learning’ as the ability to recall information. And empirical testing is used to judge a methodolgy’s effectiveness in students’ ability to memorize. 

But I say education is so much more than memorization. Learning happens in the heart as well as the head. Education is also about nurturing critical thinking, creativity, independence, curiosity, compassion and many more of these wonderful aptitudes.

I can see that teaching method X works to stimulate progressive learning because I am there. With my students. Watching them learn.

And unless these researchers can show me that X doesn’t work in the context of my classroom and with my definition of what learning entails, then, yes, I will be one the fools who doesn’t listen to their recommendations.

About Sean Hampton-Cole

Fascinated by thinking & why it goes wrong➫ (Un)teacher ➫iPadologist ➫Humanist ➫Stirrer ➫Edupunk ➫Synthesist ➫Introvert ➫Blogger ➫Null Hypothesist.
This entry was posted in EDUCATION. Bookmark the permalink.