Hitting an Albatross: On Teaching Off a Zero Handicap



Teaching is like playing golf: as much as we try, most of us will never be perfect at what we do. I have yet to meet a teacher (and I’ve met many truly masterful ones) who can teach off a scratch handicap. Most of us just try to get a little better every time we teach – slowly trying to eliminate our mistakes while adding a few new skills.

What gets to me is those teachers who don’t even try to get better. They use the same worksheets, the same methods, the same equipment, the same jokes, the same classroom arrangement, the same examples and the same assessments year in, year out. And then they spend their holidays ‘resting’. How much fun can that be? How effective can that be?

Imagine a golfer who just plods along, never doing anything new, never trying new equipment, never seeing what will happen if he tries things a different way, not even looking around too much – just waiting to get sozzled at the nineteenth hole. Why even bother?

I am exhausted. And I am only halfway through my holiday. All this to get just a little bit better next term. I don’t want any perfect rounds, I don’t even want a hole in one – I just want to improve a little… to straighten my shots, to play better out of tricky situations, to adapt better to the conditions, to finish a bit more solidly…

And perhaps hit an albatross or two.

 

About Sean Hampton-Cole

Fascinated by thinking & why it goes wrong➫ (Un)teacher ➫iPadologist ➫Humanist ➫Stirrer ➫Edupunk ➫Synthesist ➫Introvert ➫Blogger ➫Null Hypothesist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.